Oregon Chapter Communications Award

Communications Award – Established in 2016, the Oregon Chapter Communications Award was created in honor of the inaugural recipient: Eric “Bulldog” Jones.  The award, also referred to as the "Bulldog Award", recognizes individuals who are distinguished in the public works field for communication skills or techniques that bring awareness or educate the public and/or the profession about public works or public works communications.  For more information, contact Jennifer Garbely.

The complete outline of criteria and application submittal information can be found here

Previous years' recipients are available below:


Devon Ashbridge

Lane County Public Works nominated Devon Ashbridge to be the recipient of this year's award. Her extraordinary work in coordinating complex communications with wildfire survivors in response to the Holiday Farm Fire exemplifies the bulldog spirit of this award that was established in 2016 to honor Eric "Bulldog" Jones.

Devon has been Lane County's Public Information Officer since 2015. She holds a Bachelor of Arts from the University of Oregon School of Journalism and Communication in Public Relations and Magazine Publication. Prior to her work with Lane County, she served three years as a Communications Specialist for the Springfield Public Schools District. Devon has been the public affairs lead on numerous high-profile assignments with Lane County, but her past year serving as the County's spokesperson and public information coordinator for the Holiday Farm Fire recovery highlighted her true "bulldog" spirit as she rose to meet the numerous challenges inherent in coordinating complex messaging to a displaced population of wildfire survivors while operating in a COVID-19 restricted environment.

Read the application 


In 2020, the Oregon Chapter has a plethora of worthy recipients.  They are all equally deserving and the Oregon Chapter is happy to recognize them. 

Katy Kerklaan


“Katy Kerklaan is the ideal candidate for the 2020 APWA Oregon Chapter Communications Award. She embodies a dedication and love for public works that touches countless people, and her significant contributions towards building the next generation of public works will pay dividends for years to come.”

Nick McMurtrey, PE, Murraysmith, Inc. (Nominator)

Read the application

Adrienne Lindsey


“Adrienne Lindsey has been on the communications committee for the Oregon APWA Chapter for three years. She has lead the team by organizing monthly meetings, creating story lists, managing the Drop Box folders, as well as the social media accounts. Her attention to detail and humble drive for excellence has been invaluable. The chapter now has an archive of pictures and draft articles that will help tell the chapter’s story for years to come.

Adrienne is a communications expert, lending her skills pro bono to the Oregon APWA Chapter. The communications team is proud to have her and are excited to nominate her for the 2020 Excellence in Communications Award.”

Communication Team, Oregon APWA Chapter (Nominator)

Read application here

Jenifer Willer and Fred Wismer

Chase Welborn, Kaaren Hofmann and Brian Richardson


John Brady and Portland Bureau of Transportation's Communications Team

John Brady, the Portland Bureau of Transportation’s Communications Director, and his communications team are the award recipients for the 2019 Oregon APWA Chapter Communications Award. John and his team richly deserved to win the Bulldog Award for the work they did to promote and explain their bureau’s maintenance and construction work through a series of engaging videos for social media.

The team produced videos to explain to their constituents how and why different types of projects were done, including base repairs, grading and repairing gravel streets, crack sealing, curb ramp and grind and pave projects. They also produced a safety video, asking Portlanders to be careful around work zones. As crews perform each type of project, they would post these videos to social media like NextDoor and Facebook to inform and educate the public.

Read the application
John Brady


Tony Jobanek

When it comes to public works communications, Tony Jobanek is the real deal. With a long history in public works and an educational background in business communications Tony has been helping public works professionals at all levels develop important - and sometimes overlooked - skills in communication, leadership and conflict resolution.

Read the application


Eric Jones

The inaugural recipient, this award (also referred to as the "Bulldog Award") was named after Eric "Bulldog" Jones.

 Eric Jones


You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.