Scholastic Foundation

By the Numbers

$464,013 in foundation assets as of Oct. 15, 2017

208 scholarships awarded since 1981 (see list of recipients)

Scholarships total $301,200


Oregon APWA Scholastic Foundation

Rhonda Costin, Oregon Tech  

"This profession is truly one of a kind .... Thank you Oregon APWA for your generous support of my education.”

Rhonda Costin, Oregon Tech

Gregg Weston, 2016 Foundation PresidentThe Scholastic Foundation was incorporated on December 2, 1994, by the members of the Oregon Chapter of the American Public Works Association with the goal of establishing a stable revenue source for funding student scholarships. Eligible recipients of the Foundation’s scholarship grants are students of Oregon colleges or universities who have achieved junior standing, and whose chosen education field is related to Public Works. Individuals working in the Public Works field who are continuing their formal education are also eligible for a scholarship.

The Scholastic Foundation Board is elected during the APWA Oregon Chapter Fall Conference each year. The current Chapter President and the immediate Past President automatically serve as Foundation Board members during their term of office. Foundation Officers are elected by the Foundation Board at the first Foundation business meeting of the year.

2017 Foundation Board

President:  Gregg Weston (2016-2018), 3J Consulting, Inc.

Vice-President: Terry Song (2016-2018), Roadway Design Manager, WHPacific, Inc.

Treasurer: Rick Olson (2017-2019), President & CEO, Spec Industries, Inc.

Secretary: Gordon Merseth (2015-2017), CMTS

Trustee: Kurt Corey (2015-2017), City of Eugene Public Works Director

Trustee:  Eric Jones (2017-2019), Retired, consultant

Trustee: Matt MacRostie (2017-2019), Century West

Trustee: Jeanne Nyquist (2016-2018), Nyquist & Associates

Trustee: Ken Stoneman (2017-2019, Senior Project Manager, David Evans and Associates

Chapter President: Russ ThomasPublic Works Superintendent, City of Newberg

Chapter Past-President: Delora Kerber, Public Works Director, City of Wilsonville

Chapter Scholarship Chair: Laurie Allen, CEO, ACMS Northwest LLC

Scholastic Foundation Board Documents

Minutes of the Board of Trustees

2013 Foundation Strategic Plan

Scholastic Foundation Bylaws

Foundation Letterhead (2017)

Contact Us

Oregon APWA Scholastic Foundation
PO Box 6898
Bend, OR  97708



You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.