Sustainability Practices Award

The Sustainability Practices Award recognizes individuals, programs, agencies and organizations that have made outstanding contributions to promote sustainability in public works. The Chapter established the Julian Prize for Sustainability in 2004 to promote the role of public works in furthering the principles of sustainability. The award is intended to recognize systems thinking, long term design practices, and infrastructure systems that sustain society.

Sustainability is accomplished by the efficient and cost effective delivery of infrastructure in an environmentally and socially responsible way that ensures the best choice in the long term.  Up to two Sustainability Practices Awards are presented annually in the following categories: individual or program/agency/organization.   This award is sponsored by the Sustainability Committee.  For additional information contact Tim Blackwood, 503-502-0820,

2019 Sustainability Practices Award Winners

Program:  Sustainable CIP - City of Eugene

2015 Sustainability Practices Award Winners

Individual:  Mike Faha, PLA, ASLA, LEED AP

Mike Faha with GreenWorks, P.C.

Program:  LED Street Light Conversion Program - City of Gresham Program:  Metro Sustainability Program - Metro

2014 Sustainability Practices Award Winners


Individual:  None

Program:  Pavement Preservation Program (PPP), City of Eugene

Eugene - In-place reclamation with cement slurry stabilization

2013 Sustainability Practices Award Winner

Individual: Josh Proudfoot, Good Company

Josh Proudfoot, Good Company

Program: Tabor to the River Program, City of Portland Bureau of Environmental Services

Tabor to the River Program

2012 Sustainability Practices Award Winners

Project: City of Eugene: Alder Street Transportation Corridor

Mark Schoening
City Engineer
City of Eugene

Project: City of Pendleton: Alternative Energy Program

Bob Patterson
Director of Public Works
City of Pendleton

Project: Lane County: Customer Service Center

Tanya Heaton
Administrative Services Manager
Lane County

2009 Sustainability Practices Award Winners

Program:  City of Eugene - The Public Works Department was recognized for adopting sustainable practices in its use of Warm Mix Asphalt Concrete (WMAC). WMAC is a relatively new product that produces asphalt at temperatures 50 to 100 degrees lower than traditional asphalt. The benefits of the WMAC are reduced energy, fewer harmful emissions, increased pavement life and increase recycled materials. The City of Eugene developed the WMAC product specification with assistance from the Asphalt Pavement Association and Texas Department of Transportation. The City worked with local companies Eugene Sand Construction and Egge Sand and Gravel to place the WMAC on a large pilot project on Roosevelt Boulevard in Eugene. Lane County assisted with design review and field testing. Based on the success of the pilot project, the City chose to use the WMAC on future pavement preservation projects.

Project:  City of Newberg - The Public Works Department was acknowledged for a sustainable project involving the conversion of a parking lot adjoining 99E into a “Water Wise” garden. Through innovative design, Newberg employees converted the asphalt parking lot into a rainwater garden that captures and filters runoff and then uses it for irrigation. The garden includes an educational kiosk with a vegetative roof, diverse cultivation and features for habitat conservation.

Project:  Clean Water Services - As an innovative project to advance sustainability in wastewater treatment, the Durham Advanced Wastewater Treatment Plant, located in Washington County, is recognized as one of the “greenest” wastewater treatment plants in the United States. Awarded the LEED Silver designation, the Durham Plant is heralded for site selection, stormwater management, use of recycled materials and energy and water conservation. The Plant operations save enough energy to power 109 homes and reduce carbon consumption equal to 1.4 million miles driven in a vehicle. The Durham Plant is the first in the United States to recover phosphorous and other nutrients from wastewater; converting them to environmentally safe fertilizer which is sold to pay back the investment in this innovative technology. Bob Cruz accepted the award on behalf of Clean Water Services.

Project:  Oregon State University - Sustainable practices for the renovation of Kearney Hall was the reason for this award.  The building, formerly known as Apperson Hall, located on 14th and Monroe streets in Corvallis, houses the Civil and Construction Engineering programs.  The University used this project as a teaching opportunity, involving students firsthand in learning environmentally responsible approaches to building renovation. The project focused on conservation of energy, water and virgin materials. During construction, 75% of all construction debris was recycled or reused. The newly renovated building is expected to use 30% less energy, 42% less drinking water and 50% less irrigation water than a comparable building constructed to standard building codes.

2008 Sustainability Practices Award Winners:

Eugene Sustainability Committee

Kurt Corey and Celia Barry

Washington County Dept. of Land Use & TransportationGreg Miller and Bonita Oswald
City of Corvallis - received the award for its Sustainability Management System (SMS).  Adopted by City Council, the SMS provides a framework for decision making and encourages City staff to evaluate operations against "triple bottom line" criteria.  Focusing on environmental, all City departments have evaluated their operations over the past 18 months and have begun implementing improvements that will lead to more sustainable operations.  No photo available
City of Gresham

Don Bilyeu and Trevor Coolidge

APWA National Sustainability Practices Award

APWA (National) also recognizes outstanding contributions to promote sustainability in public works with a Sustainability Practices Award.


You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.