National Project of the Year

National Project of the Year 2015

National Project of the Year 2014

National Project of the Year 2013

National Project of the Year 2012

National Project of the Year 2011

National Project of the Year 2010

National Project of the Year 2009

The APWA Public Works Project of the Year Award was established to promote excellence in the management and administration of public works projects by recognizing the alliance between the managing agency, the consultant/architect/ engineer, and the contractor who, working together, complete public works projects.

Awards are given in four divisions:

  1. Projects less than $5 million
  2. Projects of $5 million, but less than $25 million
  3. Projects of $25 million to $75 million
  4. Projects more than $75 million

And five categories:

  1. Structures—to include public structure preservation/rehabilitation, municipal buildings, parks, etc.
  2. Transportation—to include roads, bridges, mass transit, etc.
  3. Environment—to include treatment and recycling facilities, landfill reclamation projects, sewer projects, etc.
  4. Historical Restoration/Preservation—to include historical restoration, preservation and adaptive reuse of existing buildings, structures, and facilities, etc.
  5. Disaster or Emergency Construction/Repair—to include the techniques and timing for safety, community relations, environmental protection, adverse conditions and additional considerations.

Eligibility  Public works is defined as the physical structures and facilities that are developed, owned, and maintained by public agen- cies to house governmental functions and provide water, power, waste disposal, transportation, and similar public services in accordance with established public policy.

To be eligible for nomination, a project must have been “substantially completed” and available for public and/or agency  use within two calendar years prior to nomination. If a project has multiple phases or segments, then “substantially completed” will be construed as that point when the final phase or segment is 90% completed and available for public and/ or agency use.

Each year, the national Project of the Year Committee reviews the nominations and selects the award winners.


You have been logged out...

You have been logged out of the system due to inactivity. Please login again.